How I Met Mr. Slick


 

 

 

I was sitting at a restaurant bar with two of my friends. I had a crush on a guy I had met a few weeks prior. He was there. I was scoping him out. I asked my friends what they thought of him. One of my friends answered “Never mind him, check out the guy in the striped shirt that just walked in.”  Ok, cute… but still checking out my crush.  And wouldn’t you know the guy in the striped shirt sat next to Crush Guy.

My friends and I were laughing and talking, I occasionally glanced at Crush Guy.  After about an hour the guy in the striped shirt was suddenly standing in front of me. He looked me in the eyes and called me by my name. My first and last name. Umm, Oh shit, I thought, do I know him? Was I drunk and don’t remember? Should I be embarrassed?

Tentatively, I asked “Do I know you?” He said “No, but I know about you. I’ve done my homework and asked around.”  Hmmm, I looked him up and down, yea he’s good looking.  But what did he hear about me? Who did he ask? What does he know? Ugghhhh was I drunk, those damn martinis!

So as cute as I could, I cocked my head and said, “I’m sure you have only heard good things…” “How could it be anything but good? “, he asked. The playful banter continued for a little bit. Then he said “There’s one thing I do know …” I answered, “Really what’s that?” He replied, “I want to take you to dinner.”

Oh, I was totally caught off guard.  We were only talking for about 20 minutes.  The way he sauntered over. Knew things about me, his smile, his confidence…He was slick.  I was definitely intrigued… I agreed. I gave him my number.  And that’s how I met Mr. Slick.

So I wondered would he call? When would he call? Will he follow that “3 day wait before calling rule”? Oh I hate the wondering and waiting part. In fact if any men are reading this…”wait three day” thing is bullshit. We meet you, and we are excited the next day thinking about you. Day two it kind of fades…Day three we are not caring so much. No need to go out the next day… but the call or text is nice, we don’t think you are desperate.  Just saying….

So… by day five, I had figured it was just bullshit and he wasn’t calling. Then, he called. It was good timing. I was on my way home from my failed Muffin Man date. Anyone would have sounded fantastic.  He wanted to take me to a very nice upscale restaurant. My dates may suck, but I do seem to be eating very well! So, we make plans, I’ll meet him.

My first date sweater hasn’t been working so well for me. I think this calls for a new outfit. Oooh I’m excited. I’m not sure which I’m more excited about… shopping or Slick.

I guess we’ll see….

Posted on May 23, 2012, in dating, divorce, humor, love, On line dating, over 40, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Yes, oh, Yes. We need to know if Mr Slick is

  2. As I was saying, before the computer so rudely snatched the words out of my fingers . . . We need to know if Slick lives up to expectation. Or is he just that…slick? MM

  3. Can’t wait to read Part II of Mr. Slick!

  4. I want to know how he knew your name! It could be a good thing and hopefully not a creepy thing. Staying tuned for part II. 😉

  5. Very excited for you! Mr. Slick sounds like a lot of fun. And I couldn’t agree more about the “three day rule.” I want to make a public service announcement about how it’s a load of crap.

Leave a Reply

